Twitter Quitter, I Say Good Riddance

Stat tracking firm, Nielsen, released a report  today stating that more than 60 percent of Twitter users stopped using the free social networking site a month after joining.

“Twitter’s audience retention rate, or the percentage of a given month’s users who come back the following month, is currently about 40 percent,” David Martin, Nielsen Online’s vice president of primary research, said in a statement.

“For most of the past 12 months, pre-Oprah, Twitter has languished below 30 percent retention.”

People want to be on Twitter because it has become trendy, cool, everyone else is doing it, etc… but if you don’t know HOW to use Twitter – you end up looking like a fool. For example, you may not have a bio or have Tweeted yet you expect people to follow you? No thanks… All of this hype over Twitter is flooding Twitter and slowing it down. I’m completely satisfied with the Nielsen study that people drop off – because I truly believe you should only be on it if you have a purpose and understand it fully.

social-loyalty

When I speak to clients about engaging on Twitter, I first have to research to ensure their audience is even congregating in that space. The average Tweeter is 45-50. I think that statistic is drastically changing with the onslaught of hype over celebrities on the social engine, but I wouldn’t recommend a client engaging if their audience isn’t using the tool or because “everyone is doing it”.

I feel very passionate about my purpose on Twitter. I network, I collaborate, I learn and discover new things both in the world and in my field of PR/Social Media. Spam me on Facebook – fine… but all of you trendsters – either learn how to use it or find another mode of communication!

Here’s a funny video from last week’s Soup on E! that really grasps how out-of-hand and overly trendy Twitter has become… enjoy!

April 29, 2009. Tags: , , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

