What’s Your Google Profile?

I was watching the Academy Awards this weekend and during the Best Actor presentation, one of the presenters said, “If you were to Google X’s name, you’d see…” – Made me think… What is MY Google profile?

You have your LinkedIn profile, your Facebook profile, your Twitter profile, your blog profile, etc… But what happens when someone meets you and decides the first thing to look up is your Google profile?

meghan-beattie-google-profile

I decided to check out my Google profile and here’s what I came up with:
The Good:
– My Facebook profile and some other Meghan Beattie’s profile link (mine was above hers so I must be more important than her).
– My Qik profile which I just signed up for two weeks ago and haven’t visited lately because they don’t support my BBM yet.
– My Amazon profile from when I was in college and thought commenting on reviews of classroom sociology books was cool… Was that ever cool?
– Many other crazy social media site profiles I’ve created… Including my “late” blog entries – I’m still bitter Blogger. Still bitter.

meghan-on-blogger

The Not as Good:
– “Meghan Beattie” from Canada – can be very confusing since I am also Canadian but left when I was 5… Therefore, no, I’m not  living in Ontario and no, I don’t have multiple children… At least none I know of…
– An article  from my college paper from when I studied abroad. My friends and I were threatened the night before the London bombings on a bus by a guy who screamed “You’re going to die on this bus tomorrow” – very eery.
– This other crazy college article about how I convinced our favorite local bar to “up” their security at the door because I didn’t want the youngsters hanging out there – I wasn’t popular after that one hit the wire. Haha.

Overall, I’m pleased with my Google profile because a) It’s mostly ME and not other “Meghan Beattie”s – and b) I feel like my Google profile holds up pretty accurately to who I am and the things I broadcast as MY passions.

thumbs-up

Here’s another fun game that is being passed around Facebook right now: Google search –  “(your name) needs”

Meghan needs:
Meghan needs a savage beating
Meghan needs a cup of vodka
Meghan needs a boyfriend
Meghan needs to rag on granny some more
Meghan needs help as she has been caught in the middle of a conspiracy.

False, True, True, False, True

February 25, 2009. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Danni Rattanasamy replied:

    Meghan needs vodka and so does Danni.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI